Skip to Main Content


  01236 732 887   //

Book Online >>>

Our New Season Will Be Announced Shortly

Scotland Short Play Award 2015

Cumbernauld Theatre Announces Scotland Short Play Award Winners

Cumbernauld Theatre is delighted to announce the four winners of the inaugural Scotland Short Play Award, a professional play writing award designed to explore and encourage the potential of the short play format. The initiative has engaged both first-time and experienced writers.


The Theatre received an outstanding 114 submissions, each of them were sent to an Award Reading Panel drawn from professional theatre including Lesley Hart, Susannah Armitage Muriel Romanes and Tony Cownie. (Cumbernauld Theatre’s Associate Artistic Director)


An initial short list of thirty plays was drawn up and nine were chosen by the panel to receive a full day’s development workshop with a professional director and acting team. The writers were then given an opportunity to re-write their scripts before submitting a final draft.


The nine plays were given to the Award Judges Panel of six, who included Frances Poet, Fiona Sturgeon Shea, and Scotland’s Makar Liz Lochhead, who selected four winners:


Ross Dunsmore – Romance,


Martin McCormick – Potterrow,


Cameron Forbes – It Never Ends,


Emily Ashton – Morven.


Liz Lochhead said today ‘Nothing could be more valuable for writers than new initiatives like this which encourage writers to get on the first steps of making a production of their own.’


As well as receiving £1290.00 (which represents a quarter of a 60 minute play commission), the four award winners were presented at The Scotland Short Play Award Showcase which included a performance of all four winning entries at Cumbernauld Theatre, as well as the Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh. Before the evening performances, there was a workshop on the history of short plays and how they have shaped modern drama.